• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Finding time to compose?

Finding time to compose?

Just thought it might be interesting to pick everybody's brains on how and when they find the time to compose.

I studied composition in college and graduate school, and I did most of my composing in long all-night spurts. Now I'm married and working full-time in addition to rehearsing most nights, and I see my composing time fizzling away. All-nighters are rarely possible anymore.

Sure, I have an hour free here and there, but I usually can't compose like that -- when I compose I tend to get "in the zone" and will work for hours and hours straight without even getting up from my seat. But since I rarely have that luxury any more, I need to find a new way of doing things.

Also, I work as a music teacher and conductor, so often my "composing" time gets used up arranging music for one or another ensemble, rather than composing my own work.

I know that a lot of you manage to be very prolific composers while balancing a work and family life. So how do you do it?

I think this could be a great discussion, since most composers nowadays do not do it full-time. Any thoughts?

Recanati, Italy

Re: Finding time to compose?

Chris, I'm in the same situation. My teacher is very hungry with me, since he usually weaks at 6:00 AM each day, and composes for one hour. He is one of the most prolific composers around, so I guess this should work.

Monks have woken early for thousand years. So, why can't we learn to do it?

I can compose a a decent rate because I go to school. On Friday and Saturday nights, I hype myself on Mountain Dew and compose for several hours straight till about 3-4 AM. It works though.
    Colton J. Provias
    Film Score Composer, Location Sound Mixer, and Sound Editor
    Full-stack Web Developer