Annoying noices on playback

Hi all
    I am new to Gigastudio and kindly request help in resolving
    an \"annoying\" problem : On playback, I get little noices sounding
    as \"Ghk\", and more often as \"tsick\" - like the usual static noice-,
    happening every few seconds at random, and not at the same point of
    playback.
    I am using a PC with PIII @1000Mhz and a dedicated to Giga 30 GB
    Seagate IDE Hard disc, running at 7200rpm and 512MB of RAM.
    The noice appears at low polyphony levels, but it gets certainly
    worse at 70+ voices.
    The problem increased when a new GSIF compatible driver for
    my \"Prodif Plus\" audio card allowed the use of its ADAT outputs for
    energising ports 1,2 3,4 etc to 9.10.
    The DMA box of the Hard disc is checked.
    Any clues please?

Send response to : forminx@otenet.gr
    Thanks a lot
    Vassilis

Re: Annoying noices on playback

Is everything in the digital path running at the same frequency ie 44.1 or 48khz?

Are you using a master/slave setup as far as the word sync goes?

Hi Forminx,

Did you solve your problem \'cause I have exact same thing and it\'s driving me mad...

Ive had the same problem on my computer for the last year and can\'t seem to fix it.
    Ken

1) Try different HD drivers. 2) If that doesn\'t work, get a new mobo.. maybe you\'re lucky.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Chadwick:
    Is everything in the digital path running at the same frequency ie 44.1 or 48khz?

Are you using a master/slave setup as far as the word sync goes?
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Sorry for late answer (vacation etc.)
    I believe I do. I have tried various tricks but did not resolve the problem!
    Thanks for your advice anyway.
    Vassilis

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lex:
    Hi Forminx,

Did you solve your problem \'cause I have exact same thing and it\'s driving me mad...