• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sound design -different for in-game vs. cutscene?

Sound design -different for in-game vs. cutscene?

I'm new to all this, so bear with me while I get my feet wet. I'm wondering if a lot more effort goes into the sounds that will appear during gameplay vs. the sounds that happen during a cutscene. Do you guys find that you're using more stock sounds during a cutscene and more custom sounds during gameplay? I'm not sure what made me wonder about this, I guess it just seems like cutscenes are just like designing for movies and that somehow that might be different. Just curious about how it all works...

Re: Sound design -different for in-game vs. cutscene?

I think it totally depends on the platform, the engine and the way the cutscenes are rendered. If the cutscenes are rendered with the same game-engine that is used for gameplay, naturally, designing sounds and integrating them is very similar to the design one would do for in-game sounds. Because things are on a fixed timeline though, you can spend more time making sure everything is just right.

If the cutscenes are pre-rendered, they can be treated much more like a traditional film score, and chances are they can be of higher fidelity. In either case, though, the source material I use would be similar.

As far as stock sounds vs. original - I try to use as much original content as I can (we have a fairly extensive library of our own creation) and backfill with stock sounds if I need something we don't have, etc.

I think it totally depends on the platform, the engine and the way the cutscenes are rendered
    platform dependent - why?
    completely agree with the rest
    The Dimensity Project at