• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Photoscore vs. Smartscore vs. Sharpeye vs. ???

Share/Bookmark

Photoscore vs. Smartscore vs. Sharpeye vs. ???

Has anybody done a comparison between the major score scanning OCR programs?

I'm looking to get one soon and I'm not sure. I have tried the demos briefly but they all seem to have their pros and cons, so I thought I'd see if anyone can share more in-depth experience.

I am a composer, conductor, and music teacher, so I'd be using the software for all sorts of purposes, from single-stave to full orchestral scores. The more accurate and versatile, the better.

Thanks,
    chris.

Re: Photoscore vs. Smartscore vs. Sharpeye vs. ???

I'm interested in this question, too.

I will be working mostly with choral scores and church music, so the ability to scan music with lyrics will be a factor.

Has anybody here used a scanner for church music?

Also, is it better to import the scans into Finale 2007 or Sibelius 4.1--or does that even matter?
    Wheat Williams
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Music Copyist in Sibelius
    Apple MacBook Pro, Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    Apple Certified Support Professional. I also work with Windows.

I own SmartScore, and it does OK, actually, considering what I am asking it to do it is darn near miraculous!

However, I just tried the demo for SharpEye, and it does a much better job of recognizing everything. The downside is that when there is something that is not recognized properly the tools to fix it are not quite as nice as the ones in SmartScore. However, did I mention that it did a significantly better job of recognizing music, lyrices, chord symbols, etc???

I've tried probably all the demos over the years (and the population is shrinking), and I would definately narrow it to these two. If you think you are going to be spending time correcting errors I'd probably go with SmartScore, or better yet, both!