• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: I can't make Garritan work on my computer.

I can't make Garritan work on my computer.

Please, everyone, I'm a wannabe composer who's totally lost in technicalities, so feel free to ask any additional questions you want.

My comp. has 20 gig free after installing Garritan. A Soundblaster Live 5.1 Soundcard with the latest drivers I can find. I have Cubase (full, most recent version, NOT cracked!) and Voyetra Music Write.

I prefer using Voyetra to write the music in. It is a simple music notation program. I link it to Garritan using the Garritan Studio download.

I cannot make ANY of the Garritan sounds obey their commands, or sound anything at all like the sounds on the demo files on the Garritan website. Strings, especially, sound like a Bontempi having an offday. All the other sounds are far too loud and harsh. I know what the commands (Velocity, Volume etc.) SHOULD do, but it doesn't matter what settings I use the sounds don't change. They still sound harsh, cheap and very nasty. Volume/Velocity settings make no difference at all to what the sounds sound like. I can't even make them sound as good as the sounds on the Soundblaster Live Soundcard! (Those sounds all obey their instructions perfectly. The Garritan sounds don't wanna know.)

Now I know the above paragraph sounds incredibly vague, but that's because I haven't the foggiest idea what's going on. If I could be more definite, I'd probably be able to solve the problem.

Plugging Garritan into Cubase doesn't help. It won't obey the Cubase commands either. I've tried reinstalling it, no good. I have the latest sound drivers for the 5.1, doesn't make any difference. Have thought about buying a different soundcard, but I've no idea if that'll make any difference or indeed what soundcard to go for - they range from £50 to about £500 and I don't want to make a very expensive mistake!