• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Intro/Schillinger

Share/Bookmark

Intro/Schillinger

After lurking for a while I decided to introduce myself.
    I am a Schillinger researcher/student and have learned the System as it was taught by a few of the teachers years ago.
    I have searched some Schillinger threads that seemed to have died out. I was wondering if any of you have made progress in your Schillinger studies.

Phil

Re: Intro/Schillinger

Welcome Phil. I was not familiar with him, but just read up at a Schillinger.com, sounds like he and his system are very interesting subjects of study. Glad you brought him to this forum.

David

Quote Originally Posted by d2leo
    I am a Schillinger researcher/student and have learned the System as it was taught by a few of the teachers years ago.
    Phil
    I must confess that I was ignorant of Schillinger and his system until I saw your post. I read a bit about it at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schillinger_System

And to think it was involved in the founding of the Berklee School of Music.

Are you using notation software and Garritan sound libraries to further work in the Schillinger system? Given his focus on algorithmic composition in the 1930s, is there now computer software that can be used according to his methods to generate new music?
    Wheat Williams
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Music Copyist in Sibelius
    Apple MacBook Pro, Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    Apple Certified Support Professional. I also work with Windows.

After lurking for a while I decided to introduce myself.
    I have searched some Schillinger threads that seemed to have died out. I was wondering if any of you have made progress in your Schillinger studies.

Phil
    Well, I am one who broached the subject previously. I have not pursued the matter at all for a long time. I think the time required for a thorough study is more than I care to devote to it, although I still have not ruled it out.