• Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Topic: GPO and Sibelius

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1

    Question GPO Studio and Sibelius

    Hallo,
    I am a user of GPO Studio with Sibelius.
    I want to change a sound (instrument) on a staff midway the score.
    I want to hear the changing by GPO Studio.
    Used Ctr-T and play/dictionary but no changing to hear.
    ~P wil not work.
    When a change the channel nr. in the Sibelius mixer it's ok.
    With Finale and GPO Studio everything is ok.
    I have made a .Mid file of my score and played back with QuickTime nothing go wrong.
    Is this option possible in GPO, so yes what can I do or have to do to hear it.
    Last edited by Zopa; 11-18-2006 at 04:34 AM. Reason: Question not complete

  2. #2

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by Zopa
    Hallo,
    I am a user of GPO with Sibelius.
    I want to change a sound (instrument) on a staff midway the score.
    Could somebody tell me how I have to notate this in Sibelius.
    ~P wil not work. When a change the channel nr. in the Sibelius mixer it's ok.
    Ctrl+T and the name of the instrument you are changing to. Make sure it is listed in your play dictionary. You need to also do a staff change.

  3. #3

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by cobybos
    Ctrl+T and the name of the instrument you are changing to. Make sure it is listed in your play dictionary. You need to also do a staff change.
    Thank you for your message.
    I understand ctr-T but what do you mean with staff change?

  4. #4

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by Zopa
    Thank you for your message.
    I understand ctr-T but what do you mean with staff change?
    Sorry, coming from a percussionists mind. You only need to do a staff change if you are switching between types of staves i.e snare drum to xylo.

  5. #5

    Re: GPO Studio and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by Zopa
    Hallo,
    I am a user of GPO Studio with Sibelius.
    I want to change a sound (instrument) on a staff midway the score.
    I want to hear the changing by GPO Studio.
    Used Ctr-T and play/dictionary but no changing to hear.
    ~P wil not work.
    When a change the channel nr. in the Sibelius mixer it's ok.
    With Finale and GPO Studio everything is ok.
    I have made a .Mid file of my score and played back with QuickTime nothing go wrong.
    Is this option possible in GPO, so yes what can I do or have to do to hear it.
    The issue is that you can not change the CHANNEL of a staff in Sibelius.

    If you are using Garritan Studio and Sibelius then each instrument will need its own staff.

    If you need the score to look nice too that also can be done by hiding the extra staff and setting notes not to playback. If you need details let me know.

    Ed
    //
    // Ars longa, vita brevis
    // http://edosbear.blogspot.com/
    //

  6. #6
    Senior Member June-Bug-Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Yeovil, Somerset
    Posts
    347

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Hello,
    I have sucessfully loaded GPO and i am using the great sounds but i can't get the unpiched percussion to work on a score i.e snare, bass drum, cymbols.
    I've used the correct barlines but i can't hear the percussion?!?!?!
    What can i do???

  7. #7
    Senior Member rpearl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    1,904

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by June-Bug-Dan
    Hello,
    I have sucessfully loaded GPO and i am using the great sounds but i can't get the unpiched percussion to work on a score i.e snare, bass drum, cymbols.
    I've used the correct barlines but i can't hear the percussion?!?!?!
    What can i do???
    I haven't used the percussion sounds, but they are velocity sensitive - try increasing the velocity and see if that helps.


    R. Pearl

  8. #8
    Senior Member June-Bug-Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Yeovil, Somerset
    Posts
    347

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by rpearl
    I haven't used the percussion sounds, but they are velocity sensitive - try increasing the velocity and see if that helps.


    R. Pearl
    This didn't help i still can't hear the percussion, is there something else i can do?!?!?!?!?!?

  9. #9
    Senior Member June-Bug-Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Yeovil, Somerset
    Posts
    347

    Question Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Hey,
    Can Anyone explain to me how to use more than eight instruments on a score because i would like to now wright some orchestral stuff rather than my traditional ensemble of brass, woodwind and some small orchestral arrangments.

  10. #10
    Senior Member rpearl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    1,904

    Re: GPO and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by June-Bug-Dan
    Hey,
    Can Anyone explain to me how to use more than eight instruments on a score because i would like to now wright some orchestral stuff rather than my traditional ensemble of brass, woodwind and some small orchestral arrangments.
    If you are using the Sibelius crossgrade, you can have 32 instruments; if you are using Sibelius, and playing it back through GPO Studio, note that you have 8 GPO players, each containing 8 slots (giving you 64). Just choose GPO Studio 1, GPO Studio 2, etc. in the Mixer.

    R. Pearl

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •