• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: A short GPO piece

A short GPO piece

Here is a short counterpoint study I recently completed... just for fun.

A chamber work utilizing Strings 1&2, Viola, Cello, and Basses.

Still an ongoing process of learning to make samples appear more natural... feedback is welcomed!

Re: A short GPO piece

Very nice work, this sounds like quite an elegant piece. I'm no expert on counterpoint at all, but to my ears it sounds well done! Also, whatever you're doing to make your samples sound more natural, it's working very well, the strings sound great!
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

It sounds pretty realistic to me. The reverberation was done well. What did you use for reverb? I would like to hear more of your string work.

Wine Country, Colorado

Great work on this, Jeff. Both writing and rendering. The reverb is dead on for my taste. Very enjoyable!
    Never look at the trombones. It only encourages them. Richard Strauss

My Website
    Beethoven's Eroica
    Antonio Salieri
    The History of Studebaker

Very nice writing, Jeff. Strings sound pretty convincing. Did you apply an EQ? Sometimes, it takes the "edge" off of the high, piercing strings. But, not a real problem with your production.

Great stuff, Jeff.

Jack Cannon--Toshiba laptop, 2.8 GHz CPU, 1.5 GB RAM, GPO4-JABB3-Auth. STEINWAY-Gofriller CELLO-Stradivari VIOLIN-COMB2-WORLD, FINALE 2009/11, RME Digiface, Cardbus, V-Stack---Mac Pro 2.66 GHz CPU, 8 GB RAM, DP 8, MOTU Traveler, MOTU Micro Express.--MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz CPU, 8 GB RAM.

Quote Originally Posted by valhalx
    Great work on this, Jeff. Both writing and rendering. The reverb is dead on for my taste. Very enjoyable!
    I fully agree with you, but please explain the expression "the reverb is dead on.." As a non-native-english reader I don't exactly know what it means.

Nice piece though!!