• Register
  • Help

Topic: Help-Guide for a Beginner

Help-Guide for a Beginner

Hi all,

first i have a very good sense for rythm and music, so im not a total newbie. I bought Garritan Personal Orchestra, and now i want to start tryiing different things. (with mouse & keyboard, no midi device, even when its easier some of you will say)

Can someone tell me what i have to do? I installed the software but, i knew that i maybe have to install additional a sequenzer, but what have i to do when i want to start composing... I tried so long, but never saw a screen or something where i can choose instruments and start composing or something like that...

Thanks a lot

Chandler, Arizona

Re: Help-Guide for a Beginner

You'll need a sequencer or music notation program to record your own music. Are you on a PC or Mac?

Thanks a lot for your answer.

I have a pc.

Now do you know a good sequenzer... Im not good in notation (its a while ago) so is there a sequenzer, where i can just choose the instrument from the garritan orchestra, and directly compose something with choosing the right note and so on... i hope you understand what i mean... And how do i have to setup everything... Will the sequenzer know garritan? Im sure you have the right sequenzer-tipp for a bloody beginner

Thanks a lot

As you want to use a sequencer and are on a PC, I recommend that you start off with a "lighter" sequencer from Cakewalk or Steinberg. These programs will do all that you need at your level, are inexpensive, and will provide a reasonable upgrade path to the heavy hitter programs if you find, down the road, that you need something more.

For Cakewalk products, check out SONAR HomeStudio or HomeStudio XL:
    (SONAR Home Studio is US$139; XL is $209)

For Cubase, Cubase SE 3 is around where you want to start:

Both support VSTi, the system through which GPO integrates into them. (You start the sequencer and then "load" GPO as a "plug-in," routing the midi notes through it.)