• Register
  • Help

Topic: Would this set up work?

Share/Bookmark

Would this set up work?

I am building a hybrid Mac/PC studio with the PC dedicated to GS160. I\'ve done some recording but this is my first attempt at actually building a studio of my own.
    I am looking to use an M-Audio card, but am unsure which would be best.
    I plan on purchasing a MOTU 828 and a MOTU Express XT USB. I also have a Midiman 4x4 USB Controller. I would like to link all of this into Digital Performer on my Mac.

Would this be a correct setup and signal flow? I am a little confused.

MOTU828 links both computers via S/PDIF. This would grab the audio output from GS, right?

Express XT connects to Mac via USB. How many outs to Midiman 4x4? 4x4 connects via USB to PC. Is this reasonable instead of buying a card with onboard ports? Latency issues?

This would lead me to believe that an M Audio DiO 2448 would be all I need. Do I need any features beyond S/PDIF ability?

Re: Would this set up work?

The Dio 2448 is not GSIF compatible -- in fact, it doesn\'t work at all with GS. If you get the Audiophile instead, you\'ll not only have S/PDIF i/o, but analog i/o and MIDI i/o as well. Latency is as low as 6ms (measured) with WDM drivers under Windows 98SE or Windows ME (Windows 2000 or XP adds about 5-10ms to the MIDI input from what I\'ve measured because of all the additional layers it goes through). The price of the Audiophile is around 50% more than the 2448 (which is discontinued).

I sure people will pipe in with other suggestions. Terratec seems to get mentioned a lot as well as Hoontech as sources for low cost GSIF compatible cards with S/PDIF.

What about Luna at 330$ ?

It has Analog IO, SPDIF IO, Midi In/out, ultra low latencies (3ms), Asio1&Asio2 with 64 channels, GSIF with 32channels and low latencies 3ms), 24bits/96khz, 16stereo/32mono Mixer with 4aux, effects, synth, routing, all in real times?

Have a look at them at least!

Originally posted by marcuspocus: