• Register
  • Help

Topic: JABB/GPO/Strad Cues from "Lounge Act"

JABB/GPO/Strad Cues from "Lounge Act"

Hi all. I'm a regular forum reader/listener, but rare poster. This is my first time posting some of my music, since now I have a website host to facilitate their online storage.

I was contracted last summer to score my first feature-length film, a comedy entitled Lounge Act, written and directed by J'Mel R. Davidson. Since the movie had no budget to speak of, I wasn't able to hire any real musicians, beyond what I could play myself (i.e., guitar). So I finally broke down, got a loan, got a great audio workstation PC, GPO, JABB, and Strad, and the results below are my first attempts at using serious samples to create finished products.

I appreciate any comments or suggestions. The movie went to print several months ago, so of course it's too late to change anything. But I could always use advice for future projects!

Lounge Act is a comedy about two twentysomethings tried to find love (or at least lust) and happiness and budding careers as lounge singers. The director called for a mostly jazz-tinged score. Here are a few of the cues:

Sea Donkeys: the intro sequence, when the two heroes are introducing themselves to the camera. This was done entirely with JABB, with the exception of live shaker and guiro, and the marimba and xylophone from GPO.

The Great Apricot Waltz: we tried to get the rights to Vince Guaraldi's The Great Pumpkin Waltz for a climactic romantic scene, but couldn't afford the fees. So I wrote this Guaraldi-esque tune. The brush drums and bass are JABB, but the piano is from the Kontakt 2 collection.

Ringo's Theme: theme music for the -crazed hipster Ringo. The director wanted something Joabim-esque. All JABB.