• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Notion dynamics compared to real orchestra

Notion dynamics compared to real orchestra

I am new to Notion. (A couple of weeks.) I love the way I can get immediate feedback on my ideas for blending instruments to come up with novel sounds.

I was wondering if any of you out there have had a few pieces that were scored in Notion and subsequently performed by a real orchestra? What I would like to know is how the dynamic markings worked out. Did the perfomers end up with a lot of handwritten dynamic markings on their scores or did Notion's realization of the dynamic markings come close to the real world?

A lot of my music requires balancing unlike instruments to get particular unconventional sounds. A single line might have four instruments playing it, one at "f", two at "mp" and the last at "ppp". The same instruments, all playing at "mp", give a very different sound. How will the markings that I write in Notion be translated in the real world? Can I count on the combinations sounding like they do with my markings in Notion?

Thanks in advance for any insights you can give me.

Re: Notion dynamics compared to real orchestra

Hi Kirk! Welcome to the Notion Forum.

I haven't had a piece written in Notion performed by a live orchestra (but maybe soon--positive thinking!). One of Notion's strong points is its playback of dynamics (btw--do you know that each dynamic has a + and - playback option, so pppp+ and mp- is possible and every dynamic variation in between?). I tend to shape everything, and litter the score with minute dynamic markings:Notion plays them back and it adds tremendously to the overall musicality and realism of the rendering. I find one can indeed make a very realistic playback by doing so.