• Register
  • Help

Topic: Romance for Violin

Share/Bookmark

Romance for Violin

Hi All

Long-time reader, first time poster. I just got the Strad, and after some trial and error, I have my first piece. It uses the Lyrical Strad and the GPO Harp I. I'm an amateur violin player myself so I know something about how a violin should sound, but I'd welcome any suggestions on how to improve the realism of this piece.

Mank thanks!
    Keith.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/song...songID=4838795

Re: Romance for Violin

Welcome to the forum, Keith!

A fine, thoughtful study, well done on the
    writing.

I'm the village idiot on sound treatment, but
    for what it's worth, perhaps a little more
    room (reverb) on this? Not much -- just
    a little.

I'm not a violinist (old 'cello player,though);
    but I might also suggest more attention to
    phrasing and articulation, a more legato
    approach in the playing style. I think the
    gentle, somewhat wistful tenor of these
    flowing lines would enjoy that.

Keep it coming, Keith!

My best,

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

Quote Originally Posted by dr_mcmoose
    Hi All

Long-time reader, first time poster. I just got the Strad, and after some trial and error, I have my first piece. It uses the Lyrical Strad and the GPO Harp I. I'm an amateur violin player myself so I know something about how a violin should sound, but I'd welcome any suggestions on how to improve the realism of this piece.

Mank thanks!
    Keith.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/song...songID=4838795
    Keith,

first let me say congratulations on this piece. I liked it even before listening because of two reasons:

1. It is an original composition, not always the same old stuff, hehe.