• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Learning to play piano...

Share/Bookmark

Learning to play piano...

Something interesting happened on New Year's Eve...

A friend invited me to celebrate at their new house. The house was very nicely decorated, since his wife works as an interior designer. In a corner, they had this beautiful Yamaha Baby Disklavier, playing up a storm. "Who plays piano in the house?" I asked, since I knew my friend could not carry a tune to save his life. "No one", he replied "that's why we got the player piano. It's a must for the well decorated home. Or so my wife tells me...".
    At that moment, it hit me... Damn, I wish I could play the stupid thing!!!
    I've been playing guitar for many years, but piano is a different story. The keyboards I have at home are used mainly for 'data entry' for the sequencer. I cannot get a handle of the whole left-hand, right-hand thing. I'm not very well coordinated, I suppose...
    And so, finally, we get to my question:
    Does anyone know of a good method to play piano for adults?
    It would prolly have to be video or a very informative bood, as I don't believe I could get a teacher. My schedule is bith demanding and unpredictable
    My expectations are just to be able to play a few tunes, for personal pleasure. I don't expect to become a concert pianist at this stage of the game... Maybe lead the gang into "Auld Lang Syne" next New Year's Eve...

Any suggestions?

Diego

Re: Learning to play piano...

Quote Originally Posted by diegom
    Something interesting happened on New Year's Eve...