• Register
  • Help

Topic: New film score cue for feedback

Share/Bookmark

New film score cue for feedback

Hi all,

I've been lurking around here for a while and thought I'd finally post a composition.

I'm just a student at the moment, have been studing orchestration privately for a few months.. I got an opportunity to do a score for a short student film (I've never scored a film before) and thought I'd post the action track I just wrote for the climax of the film to get some feedback:

Showdown

It's meant to be rather superhero-ey.. the abrupt and unconclusive ending was on purpose for the particular scene.

This film score was also my first time using sample libraries.. previously I used a Roland Sound Canvas SC-88 to do my composing. So I'm all very new to samples and convolution reverb, etc.

Feedback will be appreciated!

Mike

Thumbs up Re: New film score cue for feedback

I very much like the mood and tempo of this track. It gives a sense of an epic battle scene at the Alamo.

Francis Belardino
    Bela D Media.com
    Bela D Media | www.BelaDMedia.com

Re: New film score cue for feedback

"This film score was also my first time using sample libraries.."

which ones?

I use Cubase 4 as my sequencer..

For libraries I used GigaStudio 3 Orchestra with the bundled VSL Giga Symphony for the staccato cellos and bass, with Kirk Hunter Emerald for most of the non-staccato strings, though for high violin staccatos I used both Emerald spiccato and VSL giga staccato patches mixed. The brass is mostly Kirk Hunter Orchestral Brass (I prefer that greatly to the brass that comes with Emerald) but with some ProjectSAM brass stuff. The percussion is ProjectSAM True Strike 1.

I have GPO, EW Choirs and Kirk Hunter Orchestral Strings as well but did not use them in this.

Mike

Nice. Personally, I think the strings are spread around enough when I listen with headphones. The only thing your mix lacks is reverb - there needs to be at least a little more.