• Register
  • Help

Topic: JABB polyphony not possible with trumpets

JABB polyphony not possible with trumpets

A friend of mine uses the Personal Orchestra and can play a chord using a trumpet sound but I can't do this with my JABB. Is this possible and if so, would I do this in a different way to accomplish this? Thanks for your help. This is my first time being in a forum. Malcolm Hines

Chandler, Arizona

Re: JABB polyphony not possible with trumpets

The normal instruments are monophonic because of the extended programming used in JABB. Try the Lite versions.

Hi, Malcom

I just got through posting a reply to a similar question.--I encourage you to Not find ways to play chords with the Trumpets or other instruments in JABB.

As Haydn said, the Lite versions are polyphonic--but the whole point of JABB is the ability to achieve natural results. The instruments are monophonic like real instruments. While you can play chords like a pianist would with the Lite versions, or with the ensemble players in GPO--the results are far less satisfactory than if you mount your ensemble pieces one instrument at a time.

--EDIT: I came back to say that your friend is getting Far less satisfactory results with his GPO than he could be. Playing a chord with one of the Trumpet ensemble player causes phasing, and all the notes have the same sonic quality. If those chords would be built from three different instruments, the way GPO was designed, your friend would have Much more realistic results.
    I suppose you may be wanting to play the programs live, and that would have different demands of course. But for recording, I really hope you try to use JABB as its designed. The superior results you'll get from playing each instrument as a soloist will be very rewarding.

Last edited by rbowser-; 01-16-2007 at 11:00 AM. Reason: One more thing to addd