• Register
  • Help

Topic: How to play a sax section chord?

Question How to play a sax section chord?

I'm brand new to a forum and to JABB. I do have it working. It does sound great and is a ton of fun. Can I ask however, is it possible to set up the Kontact parts so that I could play a 4 part chord with say, sop sax, alto, tenor and bari sax? This idea would be something I would want to do often-with brass sections, string sections SATB, etc. Do I dream the impossible or do I have rookyitis? Thanks

Malcolm Hines

Re: How to play a sax section chord?

I don't think that's possible within the Kontakt Player, as I'm understanding you. However, I think the Lite patches are polyphonic so you could have multiple notes sounding, but they'd all be played by the same instrument - all altos for example.

A solution might be to purchase Kontakt 2 and create a preset where you would have the four saxes laid out over four keyboard zones. That wouldn't be ideal to cover all situations, but it might get you closer. If you're trying to set it up so that whenever you play a four note voicing you get SATB sounds, I don't know that that's possible with current technology, although the guys at Audio Impressions (DVZ Strings) have come up with some interesting stuff to create divisi (DVZ - get it?) string sections on the fly, so maybe that will eventually work it's way over to a sax section library later on.

I like your idea, especially since I do a lot of big band writing, but I think we're a ways from achieving it, unless someone at NAMM proves me wrong. Here's hoping!
    Paul Baker
    Baker's Jazz And More
    Austin, Texas, USA

NW Illinois

Hi Malcolm,

Make sure you read all of the documentation and download the latest JABB update. As BMDAUSTIN said, the "lite" wind instruments are polyphonic. Are you working in a sequencer or a notation program. Ideally each instrument is set to its own midi channel and has no need to be polyphonic.