• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Legato and polyphony - the final answer?

Share/Bookmark

Legato and polyphony - the final answer?

Hello everybody, I'm new to GPO and I've been quite excited about all its details. But here is what I struggle with:
    I have read several posts here and one group claimed, that it is necessary to have polyphony set to "1" in order to use legato (cc#64). The other group says you need to set it higher (3 or more) to get the right sound. Talking about wind instruments now.
    When I set polyphony to "1" and add the cc#64 there seems to be no legato at all. The notes don't overlap and they cut at the moment the next note starts to play. I really need to set the polyphony higher to smooth the melody.
    Where is the problem. Am I doing something wrong that my cc#64 doesn't work here? I stretch the notes to overlap slightly in a sequencer, but with poly=1 - no legato...
    Thanks for help.
    Kozel

Re: Legato and polyphony - the final answer?

If you select "MIDI switch" for CC#64 and depress the sustain pedal, set polyphony to 1 and overlap the notes, you will get legato with GPO winds (folders 1 & 2). With "9. Notation" winds, CC#68 is used instead of CC#64.

The notes don't overlap and they cut at the moment the next note starts to play.
    Of course they cut. Wind instruments cannot (generally) play more than one note at a time. Hence polyphony = 1.

Hi, Kozel

So, you understand Nickie's helpful response? You need to make sure in the Kontact player, under Options, that you've chosen the MIDI switch mode for cc64.

This is Definitely wrong when you said:

"...I really need to set the polyphony higher to smooth the melody..."

I've never changed the default settings for polyphony in the program--The solo instruments are set as they should be, and the great legato feature has worked from day one.