• Register
  • Help

Topic: back to midi---a little help here please

back to midi---a little help here please

I started midi with Creator, then Opcode Studio Pro, then Apple's Logic Pro.
    I've been away from midi for some time and want to get back. I've got some antik stuff
    Mac G4 1.25DP (MDD) with 2Gb ram
    Logic Pro 6
    emagic AMT 8 midi processor
    Audiowerk 2 audio card
    Garritan Personal Orchestra (sorry, gary, not antik)
    2 Roland D50s, Korg 05/W, Proteus 2 (I need these for expression)
    I am a not professional, but I tend toward classical music. My question is will this equipment plus an upgrade to Logic Pro 7 make harmony or are there weak spots or incompatibilities above? I do have a G5, but I don't want to invest in more hardware right now.
    I see Steinberg's midi software and sonar seem to be the most popular midi programs on this forum. I'm looking for an easy midi program if I don't go the upgrade to Logic Pro (I don't use more than 35% of Logic).
    Many thanks.

Re: back to midi---a little help here please

I don't know about Logic as I've never used it.

I've downloaded the trial version on Sonar and it's very useful (especially when I don't have a Mod wheel on my keyboard), I can use tencrazy.com's PW-Map to have my pitch bender act as a mod wheel. But if you're looking for even easier to use MIDI program I suggest Fruity Loops. Very simple in the fact that; you press record-> play-> then loop (or don't, if you want changes along the way). But there's no MIDI FX with FL (that I know of) like you can get with other MIDI programs.

I wish I had enough money for Sonar, even with my student discount I'm still a few shiny pennies short.

Hi Sam,