• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sets and composition

Sets and composition

I studied composition a long, long time ago and have just come back to music. In reading analysis of some compositions, I've finding a description that I am not familiar with - a description of sets. For instance, a referral to Bartok as set {0,1,4} and set {}.

What does this mean? I suspect that it's describing intervals, but does it, in the first example, describe the tonic, major second, subdominant? The tonic, minor second, minor third? Or something else entirely? I hate being so ignorant.

Thanks in advance,

Re: Sets and composition

I have not heard of this either. What is the source of your analyses? It would be easier to understand what "set" means in your question if we could read it in context.

The only music that I know that is described in sets would be serialism (twelve-tone). It was devised as a mathematical language to write music. It had specific rules which included sets and subsets (both tonal as well as rhythmic). Bartok is early 20th century and most probably the analyses would have been on a piece he wrote in that style. I'm only conjecturing here since I don't know the context of your question.

Maybe some of the forums other members will know the answer better than I.

You might move this question over to the General Discussion Area where more of the members would see it!
    [Music is the Rhythm, Harmony and Breath of Life]
    "Music is music, and a note's a note" - Louis 'Satchmo' Armstrong

Of course I've already lost the link to the Bartok reference, but here's one to Chinese composer Luo Zhongrong:

Luo tries to maximize the use of different pentatonic pitch-class sets--i.e., the three pentatonic tetrachords [0247], [0257], and [0358] and four pentatonic trichords [024], [025], [027], and [037]

(quoted material is from http://goliath.ecnext.com/coms2/summ...99-1832542_ITM)