• Register
  • Help

Topic: Progressive exercises for piano sight-reading?

Progressive exercises for piano sight-reading?

I'm looking to improve my piano skills, particularly when it comes to sight-reading.

I do a lot of professional work as a conductor, where piano competency would be a major help (not to mention how much it would improve my composition process).

I play piano every day for my jobs, and improvise regularly while composing, so I know my way around the keyboard. I took several years of piano lessons as a child, and I studied composition through a master's degree--so I *understand* just about any piece of music you put in front of me, and (to an extent) I can hear it in my head. My brain gets it, but my fingers
    don't always get the message.

In particular, my left hand needs work (it seems capable only of playing 5ths, octaves, triads, and 7th chords in simple voicings and rhythms), and I could use some help on hand-independence--especially playing interesting LH rhythmic patterns underneath a melody.

I know that the first answer to this question is "just sight-read a lot" and the second answer is "use a metronome, don't stop for mistakes." I will try all of this, but I wondered if anyone can recommend a specific, progressive set of exercises (or books/software/etc.) that is a little more structured than the needle-drop method. Any advice from personal experience would be helpful.

Re: Progressive exercises for piano sight-reading?