• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: GPO without controller?

Share/Bookmark

GPO without controller?

Well i'm not entirely sure if i should post this in here or the "tips..." section, but the caption to this section does mention finding answers, so....

I've been eyeing GPO for a while now, but there's one massive obstacle... i don't have a midi controller keyboard I run Cubase SX3 and can sequence midi, and GPO looks like a marvelous product that i think i could really benefit from, but i don't want to waste the money investing in it if it's going to be a really tiresome, tedious thing for me to use without a keyboard. Can/does anybody use GPO by inputting notes individually with a good old fashioned mouse, and if so, is it really worth it? I mean, if it's going to take a considerable amount of time more than it would with a controller i'll wait until i can afford both. Any help?

I'm new to the home studio thing so cut me some slack here

Re: GPO without controller?

I have a controller but never use it. Everything I do is with the mouse and notation hooked to VSTi. The reason is that minute you put your fingers on a instrument, your ideas instinctively reduce to the what your hands are capable of. Not a way to go. So I would not hestitate. If you are interested in composition, you will not find anything better or more comprehensive at the price.

I don't use a music keyboard. I input each individual note in my compositions with my mouse. You can listen to some of my works and judge the quality, or lack thereof, for yourself.

The quickest way to do something, especially music composition, is not the best method. Why don't you slow down and savor the very act of creating itself?

Regards,

Larry
    Larry G. Alexander
    www.alexandermusic.com