• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: a jabb jazz song.

Share/Bookmark

a jabb jazz song.

This song uses jabb rhythm section and horns. It also uses gpo violin for a pad, and a short amount of muted guitar (not jabb or gpo). I think maybe the solo's could be louder. I was trying to weave parts in and around each other. Anyway, tell me what you think.
    -Jay

http://www.katejesse.com/jabbsong.mp3

Re: a jabb jazz song.

It's a nice laid back jazz tune. I liked the string pad.

I think the solos are about right in the mix with this sort of feel.

Phil

Nice tune! Thoroughly enjoyed the music and your arrangment. Liked the groove set up by the percussion. Really liked the keyboard playing.

From a mixing point of view. . . I'm no expert so I am alway hesitant to share my 2 cents worth on this topic. It does seem, though, that the solos could be brought out more on the mix. The keyboard, as much as I like it, seems a little too hot in the mix. Hopefully, someone with better ears and better mixing chops can provide more thoughtful suggestions.

Nice job, though! Thanks for sharing!

Ted
    Music and humor are healthy for the soul.

Jay,

Having listened a few times, I like this piece very much indeed.
    The band are good musicians!
    I wouldn't mind you sharing a little more with us on how you recorded this.
    One thing I noticed was the drums, particularly the rim shot a little repetitive and seemed to kill the swing. The mix is VERY dry. I know others will say that's a good thing but I personally like a real space, even a little room has reflective surfaces.

I'd like to work with your band, any chance?

Ray

www.rayinstirling.net

Phil, jazz tunes that I write usually seem to come out laid back. I like the style but it can have a tendency to lack energy, which I don't think is a good thing. Thanks for your comments.