• Register
  • Help

Topic: Help choosing a new DAW pls (very long post)

Help choosing a new DAW pls (very long post)

I hope you guys dont mind me posting this sickeningly long plea for help here. I have had GPO for a long time, and love lurking here..I even got to speak to Gary on the phone before- very nice guy! (hi Gary!). I write mainly progressive rock, and I see mostly orchestral composers here. The overlap in these types of music is just enough that I am hoping you guys wont mind helping me I hope...lol...

I am a long time Pro Tools user, PT HD primarily. However...I have finally realized that I am becoming more and more frustrated when I try to use it for composing. For quick and simple stuff, it is great for me. For tempo and meter changes, PT7 and up is stellar IMO. But, it also lacks quite a bit that someone like me would love to have for composing...so, I am hoping that I can get some ideas/experiences. Please try to avoid trashing apps...I would rather hear what "this app can do this, and this, but I havent had much luck with it for this" rather than "well, this app does this well, MUCH better than this app coudl dream of, and while I dont think my app does this the best, it is so much better than this app, which sux anyway..."

Here is what I would love to have in a DAW (audio/MIDI sequencer?), but realize a single app having it all is going to be a miracle..and hold on, cause it is a nice long laundry list...

Must be on Mac OS X for Intel (Mac Pro dual 2.66G dual core, 4G ram; also have a MacBook). Vista looks promising someday, but I am looking for something to buy (try?) this week. Mmm...let's say that finding this and using it is some recommended therapy for my diminishing social abilities... heh

MIDI Features..a biggie, but not as big as you might think...