• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: In this day and age....

Share/Bookmark

In this day and age....

It is beyond belief that we have to manually copy files in order to get an update to work. There is no reason K2P installer should not find the old library and either reference it from it's current placement or find the samples and move them during the install process. Nice job NI

Flip side is GPO is still incredible, more so now with the K2P enhancements.

Re: In this day and age....

I second that sentiment.

I am a musician, and only barely knowledgable of all things computer.
    when people start using acronyms and geek-speak to describe things, they lose me completely.

There is NO reason why I should have to do all the manual install and file copying that I've had to endure.

Quote Originally Posted by CHudson
    It is beyond belief that we have to manually copy files in order to get an update to work. There is no reason K2P installer should not find the old library and either reference it from it's current placement or find the samples and move them during the install process. Nice job NI

Flip side is GPO is still incredible, more so now with the K2P enhancements.
    We are not happy about this either. Native Instruments response to this is:
    "I know it isn't easy for non-technical users, but there is no other solution. This is the way it will work for ALL KP1 to KP2 library updates, not just Garritan."
    To make this easier, Tony found a way to a batch file to automatically move the sample files to the right folders. You can find it here: http://www.garritan.com/Kontakt2PlayerUpdate.html It is PC only and we'll look into a Mac version as well.

Gary Garritan

If you plan on using both the K1.5 and K2 players, might I suggest using hard links instead of using an extra 2 gigs of HD space? Here's a handy reference if you're using Windows.

Red face Re: In this day and age....