• Register
  • Help

Topic: How to make Prominy's LPC sound awesome.

How to make Prominy's LPC sound awesome.

Hello all,

Warning! Long post ahead. I think it's worth it, though. I want a complete newbie to understand my ideas as well as an experienced user, so that's why I'm being long-winded.

There wasn't a whole lot of noise over on the Prominy forum when I made my discovery, so I thought I'd post it here where it's bound to get more exposure.

First off, here are demos of the sound I'm getting from LPC:

Demo 1 (initial tone): http://www.ridiculosity.net/lespaul_newtone.mp3

Demo 2 (final, tweaked tone): http://www.ridiculosity.net/lespaul_progriff2.mp3

I think this sound rivals any of Prominy's official demo's (just the sound! not the composition, as these are not full pieces of music). Now I want to tell you how I did it.

I'm not a narcissist or anything. I just think I've discovered a heretofore unmentioned or at least undiscussed (is that a word?) technique for working with Prominy's LPC. I'm just trying to give back to the community, after all the advice and knowledge I've garnered on these forums.

Okay. Onward.

All the rhythm guitar I hear in contemporary rock, metal, and alternative music is double-tracked. It's the standard recording technique for producing loud, obnoxious, in-your-face electric guitar. The idea is this: you play the rhythm part all the way through, and hard pan the track all the way to the left. Then play your rhythm part again, and hard pan that track right. Play 'em together, and the subtle differences in timing and tone between the two signals coming in from two opposing channels creates a big, fat, wide stereo rhythm guitar.

So, if you're going to use sampled e-guitar for rock, metal, and/or alternative music... you should probably double-track it. That's what real guitarists do in their recordings.

How do you do it?