• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My First VSL Rendering

Share/Bookmark

My First VSL Rendering

"Scene" from Swan Lake is my first time rendering an orchestration with a Kontakt 2 Library, mostly using the included VSL Library. I am not entirely happy with this library, and don't know whether or not it is only because it is too scaled down or if VSL is just not the one for me. I am, however, mainly pleased with the results after spending about fifty hours tweaking the bugs. I know some people will say that's pathetic to take so long, but I'm a perfectionist and I have to start somewhere. I'm sure it will be faster next time. This is also only my third time ever working with a midi orchestration and I have no previous experience arranging classical compositions, except for a few piano pieces, one of which, Flight of the Bumblebee, is also available on the same download page (a fairly liberal interpretation of the piece, but an arrangement I think many will like).

Please do not be kind...I want to get better, not get flattered, unless you really mean it. Don't hold back positive or negative comments. Give it to me straight Doctor, I can take it. Thanks

Here is the link to hear my arrangements of two of my favourite classical masterpieces: http://crazyox.dmusic.com/

Smile Re: My First VSL Rendering

Who knows why I'm up at 4 AM, but here goes:

The quickest and simplest thing you can do to improve this arrangement is to slap some reverb on that sucker. Right now your entire orchestra is crammed into a large, unrealistically "dry" space. Figure out what space you want the ensemble to be in (i.e. a large church, an outdoor ampitheatre, a stadium), and find a reverb plugin that comes close to what is in your imagination.