• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Recording sampler output etc.

Share/Bookmark

Talking Recording sampler output etc.

Hi all! I'm having a bit of an annoying piccadilly.

I used to be able to record my soundcards output in hardware directly... I now have an M-Audio Audiofile something or other card (I'm drunk at the moment, so the exact model escapes me... its was like 150$ at most) and I can't seem to find a way to do it... in fact there isn't a way as far as I can tell. Strange... my craptastic soundblaster had this ability but not my newish fancy audio card.

Are there any software apps (preferably freeware... I'm a starving artist living on my moms couch) that can record the samplers output in software? Right now all I can do is loop the analog outputs back to the inputs physically, which obviously degrades sound quality due to the pointless DA AD conversion.

For clarification, I do not use any sampler as a plug-in, because I do not have the $$$ for a decent host right now. I use an ancient 286 midi-only version of Cakewalk that frankly completely destroys the sequencer in any modern "audio+midi" do-it-all package and has zero system footprint.

Anyway... I kinda desperately need to capture some audio in XP somehow without looping it back with actual cords. Not just for my sequences... I have a few psychotic audio synthesis apps I programmed, and I would like to capture their output as well. That and all my old custom tracker songs (I programmed a rather fancy tracker in Quickbasic and ASM many years ago)

I hope that was clear enough... as I said... I am a bit sloshed! Wheeeeee. 4 months without smoking... I decided I deserve a few beers tonight as a reward.

Thanks for any and all help I will forever be in your debt if you can direct me to a viable solution.

Thank you, merry Halloween, Xmas, National Spelunking with Marshmallow Boots day, etc.

Re: Recording sampler output etc.

Help! Desperate!