• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: SSIS... VI ... Best use for 1k

Share/Bookmark

SSIS vs. VI Appassionata - Best use for 1k?

Hi all,

I'm going to need to make a purchase here pretty soon, so I thought I'd through this up for some advice.

Pretend (or don't), that you've got 1k to spend. I've been eying the SSIS String Collection now for a while. It's stayed pretty close to that much for a good bit, and I'll wager it might be cheaper given I'm a student and apparently, there are discounts. I've always loved the sound of the demos I've heard, and I need better strings...

As I browse the plethora of VSL products, though, (A daunting task, in my opinion), I begin to wonder if there might be a better deal out there for my seldom-seen money. I see that the Standard + Extended versions of the Appassionata Strings are just over 1k, and this new 'Vienna Collection' is as well. Opus 1 has served me well, but the idea of playing Vienna Instruments without the nasty performance tool gets me kind of excited in a bad way...

Now, the VI Special Edition says that it contains, as a Bonus, the staccato and sustain samples from the Appassionata... I suppose I wonder, too, when folks buy these libraries, do you go for the "bargain" collections and then try to fill in the holes, or do you just buy them one at a time?

One last question I had was, since I am using a 2 box rig at the moment, with GS3 on a second box connected via crossover cat5 to my laptop daw, how...do these VI instruments work, since they're vst? Could I, for example, put some sort of data file, or the samples or whatever on one machine and just use the vst interface on the daw? Can I even take advantage of a two box rig anymore?

Suggestions? Comments? All are welcome and appreciated!

Steve
    Steven J. Kukla
    Kuklamusic.com

Re: SSIS... VI ... Best use for 1k