• Register
  • Help

Topic: Possible problems with GPO Studio?

Possible problems with GPO Studio?

Shame my first post to this or any other Forum is an installation issue, but I have GPO and Studio installed from DVD, including two fixes available on the Forum. I am a total novice with GPO, but I have trawled the forum seeking answers to these without success.

I am using Noteworthy Composer, and everything seems to be working apart from:
    1. On start up of Garritan Studio, I get a "Garritan Studio Error" window containing a set of error messages (14 lines of it) the last one of which is "Can't set value of HKCR/GarritanStudio.patch\shell\open\command etc. Some of these quote error 2, some error 5. Despite this, the programme seems to work fine if I click OK.

2. There is no Help file available under the Help/Content button. Should there be?

3. While playback from Noteworthy recognises tempo changes, GPO is not recognising dynamics. I can see no reason why not, since these are inserted as midi controller messages.

Most of my files are relatively simple and do not have huge amounts of controller data (my main interest to date has been the notated score to allow for a decent live performance, rather than a fully mastered production). I therefore don't want to have to do an intermediate edit of a midi file in a sequencer if I can avoid it.

Any advice on the above would be appreciated.

Robert Elliott, Chester, UK

Re: Possible problems with GPO Studio?

I'm making an educated guess here - that something was going on in the background while you were doing the GPO installation and/or updates.

If you know the Windows Registry, then please forgive my presumptuousness - I just need to start somewhere.