• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First JABB attempt !

First JABB attempt !

Users of the JABB forums have had to put up for a while now with my idiotic questions about CCs and my search for the right tenor sax... well, I think I'm getting the hang of JABB now but I'd very much appreciate all comment, criticism and suggestions on my first attempt - which is here -

As it says, it's JABB's Tenor Sax 4 and a lot of CCs, plus a small touch of reverb but not much else. The piano is also JABB. I'm a pianist - not (as you will be able to tell) a saxophonist ! The piece itself is based on the music I wrote a long while ago for one of the songs - Come Away Death - in Shakespeare's Twelfth Night, for a production set in the 1920s.

As I said, all comment welcome ! And thanks again to everyone who's helped me get this far.

Re: First JABB attempt !

Hi Viv,

I like your melody, but the sax is out of tune.... .
    "Music is the shorthand of emotion." Leo Tolstoy

Listen to me, tuning my triangle http://www.box.net/shared/ae822u6r3i

Hi Viv,

Thanks for offering your music. I have two principal comments. First, the sax is really out of tune with the piano. Have you altered the random pitch controller? If so, I'd reset it to a minimal value or 0. At a ballad tempo like that, a good player will adjust pitch immediately and never be so far away from the piano's pitch for more than a few milliseconds.