• Register
  • Help

Topic: Pedal/expression problems from a novice

Share/Bookmark

Pedal/expression problems from a novice

Help me out here with this pedal thing. I am a retired music teacher pushing 60 so I feel like I am entering anew universe here. I just purchased Garritan Strad. I assume that the expression pedal is the same as the sustain pedal. When I plug the sustain pedal into my Roland, it has no effect whatsoever on dynamics....or sustain, for that matter, within Stradivari(loaded on a MAC G5). It works fine on the Roland itself...but not with the software. What is CC #11? and how and where do I acces it?

Re: Pedal/expression problems from a novice

Hi telemann!,

First off, the expression pedal is not the same as the sustain pedal when talking about your midi controller.

In the midi world the sustain pedal is a switch - it is either on or off. You are either telling the controller (your keyboard in your case) that you want notes to sustain after your fingers release the keys (the pedal is pressed) or not (the pedal is released).

An expression pedal is like the volume knob on a radio. It is usually set up on the floor like the volume pedal on an organ. You press on the front of the pedal and it moves forward and the volume increases, you press back on the pedal and the volume decreases.

Most keyboard do not come with an expression pedal. You have to purchase one from your local music store. They cost about $50.00 US currency. Here is a link to a very poular pedal made by Yamaha:

http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMFC7

Your keyboard probably has a plug in the back somewhere where you can plug in an expression pedal. On many Roland keyboard it is actually labeled "expression pedal". Also on Roland keyboards, the sustain pedal plug is usually labeled "sustain pedal"

As far as the CC #11 - well I'll do my best to explain this .