• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Suggestions for Nearfield Monitors no more than $700 a pair...

Share/Bookmark

Suggestions for Nearfield Monitors no more than $700 a pair...

Hello everyone,

I have finally decided that I need to take my music mastering to the next level and get some decent near field monitors, I’ve been composing for over 15 years and have never used a true monitoring system, it’s sad I know. Understandably I know it is difficult to find something professional under a $1000 but I am hopeful that some of you have had success with sub $700 monitors.

Just so you know what I would be listening to, I compose film score orchestral pieces but then I can turn around and compose weird ambient electronic textures or even the occasional dance track. So my acoustical need for the monitors will be varied.

I have been eyeing the Event TR8 XL\'s which have 150 watt biamp design. 100 woofer 50 tweeter I believe. A step up from the regular TR8\'s but below the 20/20 bas...I have also looked at the extremely cheap with the Behringer Truths but am too scared that they will suck. I’ve considered going to the 20/20\'s. I just don\'t know. Should I just hold out and suffer with headphones until I can afford Mackies?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Edward Trevino

Re: Suggestions for Nearfield Monitors no more than $700 a pair...

I was a Mackie freak for a long time. I still am actually, but I\'ve been forced to use these Tannoy 6.5\'s at work and they\'ve really grown on me. They\'re incredibly flat and when I burn a CD after mixing/mastering through them, there\'s usually very little to change after referencing them elsewhere. I think you can pick up a pair for under $400.00. They are passive though, if you care.

Don\'t rely only on headphones. Cans don\'t image properly. They won\'t tell you when your rights and lefts are out of phase.