• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can a sample drive be too big?

Can a sample drive be too big?

I've currently got all of my Giga sounds and what not on an internal 250GB drive. I see they have some 500GB out there but is that too big to keep and access streaming samples from?
    Westgate Studios
    Sound Libraries for Gigastudio and Kontakt

Re: Can a sample drive be too big?

I doubt that it could be too big.

But I have read that data is accessed faster or slower based on where on the drive it is physically located (towards the center or towards the outside of the spinny-thingy). On a larger drive filled with data then it would probably make a bit more of a difference.

But I'm sure this difference is minimal, unless you are really pushing the drive to its limits. As long as you keep your data defragmented I can't imagine it would be much of a problem.

But I'm not an expert on the inner workings of hard drives, so I could be way off base. Any computer gurus want to chime in?

I have been using 5 300GB firewire drives for all of my sample libs and have not had any problems! They seem to be fast enough. I used Seagate internal drives insalled into RhinoJr firewire drive cases. It did the trick.

Anyone using one big drive like a 500GB?
    Westgate Studios
    Sound Libraries for Gigastudio and Kontakt

Even if someone says "yes I use a 500Gb drive for samples, and it works great" your not going to know if there is a drop in performance unless they upgraded from a smaller drive. Anyone like that out there?

Worst case scenario you buy a 500GB drive, find out it hurts your performance, and now have a nice sized drive for backups.

Let us know if you arrive at a solid answer. As my library grows with your products, I'm going to eventually need a larger drive!

Out of my Mind