• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First full orchestra piece

Share/Bookmark

First full orchestra piece

Hello! My name is Matthew, and I'm in 8th grade. I've been doing serious concert band composing for about 2-3 months now, and since I have GPO, I decided to make my first full orchestra piece. I've gotten about 1/2 to 3/4 done with it, and I would kinda some feedback on what I have so far.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/war-of-t...s-mp3-hx7.html

This is my first song with strings and first song with a part in 10/8. I'm not good at slow parts, as you can probably tell. Any suggestions will be really helpfull. Thanks.

Re: First full orchestra piece

A warm welcome to the forum, Matthew!

And an excellent introduction of yourself and your
    work, my friend. There's some solid writing in this;
    strong themes; and a real flare for orchestration
    is definitely emerging in this.

Now. You have to get back to work on this and
    finish it for us! I'm quite serious about this being
    good work, Matthew, and completing it -- will be
    our pleasure to listen to.

My best,

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

Quote Originally Posted by etLux
    A warm welcome to the forum, Matthew!

And an excellent introduction of yourself and your
    work, my friend. There's some solid writing in this;
    strong themes; and a real flare for orchestration
    is definitely emerging in this.
    Now. You have to get back to work on this and
    finish it for us! I'm quite serious about this being
    good work, Matthew, and completing it -- will be
    our pleasure to listen to.
    My best,
    David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com
    Welcome, Matthew! David's comments speak for me, as well. Finish this, please.
    There are wonderful themes, engrossing choices of instrumentation, and real motion. When you've finished it and put it back up here you'll get some real valuable feedback, supportive and constructive.