• Register
  • Help

Topic: Levels of multisamples

Share/Bookmark

Levels of multisamples

Why are the levels of multisamples in - let's say - an eight-level sound prefixed at different levels going from soft to hard when the sampler handles the dynamics with velocity-to-volume anyway?
    Don't get me wrong here - of course I want the sound to go from recorded soft hits to harder hits - but why aren't they "normalized" so the source of dynamics is only one instead of two?

Re: Levels of multisamples

Quote Originally Posted by mondoenigma
    Why are the levels of multisamples in - let's say - an eight-level sound prefixed at different levels going from soft to hard when the sampler handles the dynamics with velocity-to-volume anyway?
    Don't get me wrong here - of course I want the sound to go from recorded soft hits to harder hits - but why aren't they "normalized" so the source of dynamics is only one instead of two?
    I'm not sure I know the answer, because I'm a rank amateur at making my own samples. But I did once try a library (of prepared piano samples) the way you're suggesting. I found that, although I'd got pretty good sample to noise ratio with all of my samples, normalising them seemed to drastically alter this ratio for the quieter samples - and reducing them in volume using the sampler didn't reverse this problem; the noise remained quite noticeable at the quieter end. In the end I reverted to mapping the samples to different velocities, and turning off the velocity-volume facility in Kontakt. Of course getting a realistic transition purely by virtue of different layers requires a LOT of layers.

Well - I decided on Peak-Normalize the samples at -0.3db and dragging the velocity-to-volume slider in Kontakt down from 100 to 60 and that gives me full kontakt dynamically with the softer sounds in a note with minor vel-curve adjustments for the various keyboards I play.