• Register
  • Help

Topic: My first arrangment

Arrow My first arrangment

Hi all. I finally finished my first arrangment and uploaded it to Garritan artists. I had this arrangment floating around in my head for years, but never had the time to actually put it all together. This is from Guns & Roses "November Rain". Since I am new at composing, I anxiously await any and all feedback. Hope you enjoy it!

P.S. Sorry, forgot the link at first post

Jaker "Shaver"

Re: My first arrangment

Quote Originally Posted by shaver
    Hi all. I finally finished my first arrangment and uploaded it to Garritan artists. I had this arrangment floating around in my head for years, but never had the time to actually put it all together. This is from Guns & Roses "November Rain". Since I am new at composing, I anxiously await any and all feedback. Hope you enjoy it!

Jaker "Shaver"
    Can you post a direct link?

"Music is the shorthand of emotion." Leo Tolstoy

Listen to me, tuning my triangle http://www.box.net/shared/ae822u6r3i

Hello, Shaver

I especially enjoyed from the middle section around 2:44 and onwards. The highly repetitive nature of the source material needs interesting variations to keep up interest, and you did quite a bit of arranging towards that end.

Previous to 2:44, the constantly aggressive string attacks in the higher octaves became wearying and I was hoping for development. --At over 6:00, I feel you could do your homage to this song with more punch if you limited it to about half the length.

There was an improvisational feel to some of the lead passages, especially the clashing English Horn section towards the end, which seemed could benefit from some shaping.

Basically, it sounds to me like you have musical ideas which go beyond what I personally feel is a rather run-of-the-mill and unrewarding Guns And Roses opus.

I'm looking forward to hearing something original from you.

Randy B.

Smile Re: My first arrangment