• Register
  • Help

Topic: Thoughts on Ensemble Building

Thoughts on Ensemble Building

Hello, all!

This is my first attempt at compiling a custom string orchestra.

Since GPO carries only three different violas, not counting the solo from which Plr1 is derived, I have established the following plan to avoid the inevitable phasing problems that would arise through the use of duplicate samples.

Vln.I(5), Vln.II(4), Vla.(3), Vlc.(2), and Cb.(1) player.

Even though this is a very small group, it seems to be well balanced, with a good measure of tone-weight. Moreover, I am thus able to completely avoid phasing strings which, of course, would completely obliterate the realism I am trying to achieve.

Re: Thoughts on Ensemble Building

I'll let some of the sharper ears and those technically
    more astute and experienced comment on the string
    work, Sean; but I did want to stop by and compliment
    the lovely, tranquil score in this... quite nice work on

My best,

Hello, Sean

It's a lovely piece indeed, and aside from the reverb being too drenched for my taste, the recording is done well also.

I understand what you outlined in your post, showing us the size of an ensemble you've assembled without duplicating instruments that would cause phasing. That's exactly as the programmers intended, as per the instructions in the manual.

But of course if you wanted a larger sound, those lead instruments could be backed up by the KS string section patches. Despite being ensemble patches, they can sound great, especially with the solo instruments playing with them.--Just passing that on in case you felt you were stuck with only doing pieces with the smaller orchestra you've assembled.

Thanks for the music--I really did enjoy it.

Randy B.

Nice composition, Sean!

When It comes to string arrangements, It's a continual struggle. Not an easy thing to pull off.
    .. but you certainly have a keen understanding of ensemble building.