• Register
  • Help

Topic: EXS vs K2

Share/Bookmark

EXS vs K2

So, I took the plunge... I switched from an all-PC set up to a Mac Pro/Logic solution which I'm very excited about. (I'll be happy to see Giga go....) ...

Well, except for the fact that I have all of these old Giga 2.5 libraries...

No problem, I've been told, EXS can convert those libraries (particularly the SAM brass stuff) and they'll work great. And, too, I have a multi format disc of the Seven Seas Grand Piano from Sampletekk.

I'm new to EXS, really new, and my question is this: if I have Logic Pro, I have EXS24... so, will the Giga stuff work as before once converted, or do you lose playability? I've heard some stuff about losing velocity layers and whatnot, so maybe the 7CG wouldnt work out so well on EXS? And, finally, the SAM brass stuff I have is solid, GS 2.5. Is the crossgrade to multiformat really necessary?

I guess I'm just not sure if EXS will suffice for what I need here, or if I need to invest in K2 for better playability...

Again, I know nothing just yet, so any advice and much understanding is greatly appreciated!

Steve
    Steven J. Kukla
    Kuklamusic.com

Re: EXS vs K2

Any takers?
    Steven J. Kukla
    Kuklamusic.com

Congrats on your new set-up!

I have converted a handful of libraries from Giga to EXS, however, Sam's wasn't one of them, so I can't refer to that one directly.

I can tell you though, that based on my (limited) experience converting giga to EXS, it appears a good amount of the giga programming does make it through.

The one constant exception I found was dynamic layers. If, for instance, soft, medium, and loud samples appear on different layers, and are crossfaded via the modwheel in the original programming, the mod wheel functionality doesn't come through.

But because the EXS conversion was smart enough to put these "layers" on what the EXS calls "Groups", fixing this is pretty easy.