• Register
  • Help

Topic: Problems with steinway piano volume in GPO

Problems with steinway piano volume in GPO

Hey guys, I'm new here, but I've been lurking around these forums (especially the listening room) for some time now, and I see that there are many really good composers around here. One piece that really stands out for me is Randy Bowser's piano and string piece ( sorry I forgot the name).

Ok, back to the main topic. How can the volume of the steinway piano be controlled by using finale? I tried the mod wheel, but it doesn't work.. It sounds the same dynamically no matter how high or low I turn the mod wheel..

So.. Any idea what the problem is?
    PS. I'm not good at computers, so don't use some idiomatic computer phrases while explaining.. Haha.

Re: Problems with steinway piano volume in GPO

Hi Nigel and welcome!

The Steinway's volume, along with other instruments that are struck to be played like timpani and marimbas, is controlled by the velocity of the note rather than the modwheel. I'm not extremely familiar with finale (yet) but if you hunt around in the note properties fields or look at dynamics/human playback setup there should be a way to change it to use the velocity parameter.

Alternatively if you have a midi keyboard that responds to velocity, you should hear volume changes in the instrument as you record depending on how hard you hit the keys.

Hope this helps,

Oh.. So it's the velocity..
    Thanks now, everything is fine. Thanks for tyhe help.