• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Inspiration

Share/Bookmark

Inspiration

One evening I had the urge to sit down at the piano. I just moved my fingers aimlessly over the keys for some time, then something emerged and streamed and I wrote it all in one go.
    It was very short but I left it as I received it while inspired. I changed though the piano score to strings as I found those to better express what I felt.
    This is my first composition with GPO and I'm still learning the functions of HA, so I can I hear some places which are not perfect yet. But it seems that perfection has no end... so here it is, as it is...

Inspiration

Yudit

Re: Inspiration

Good morning, Sunbird

I enjoyed hearing about how this piece came to you. It certainly has an appropriate name, and it's quite pretty.

I like the way the the rhythm wraps around the melody in a dancing way, as if the music is the accompaniment to a brief and gentle spin around the dance floor when the band has settled into a mellow mood.

Your first spin with GPO!--I remember in your previous post that you talked about the library having been ordered. Aren't the strings nice to work with!

Maybe I'm not awake enough--I can't think what you are referring to when you say, "...I'm still learning the functions of HA..."---What is HA?

But I can point out a crucial feature of GPO which you haven't used here--The use of cc64, generated by the sustain pedal, to engage Legato mode. Take a look at page 8 of the GPO manual for a good introductory explanation of how this is used.

Without the Legato mode engaged, the full attack of the instrumental sounds are triggered over and over with each note, resulting in a choppy sound which isn't natural. Either play a pedal in real time to your MIDI file for this piece, or hand insert cc64 in an editor window, and your string orchestra will emerge sounding more smooth and realistic.--Look through the manual for more detail.