• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Topic: Garritan and Sibelius

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Garritan and Sibelius

    Looks like Garritan Libraries are again a big part of a major notation package release! Congratulations, Gary, Tom, et al.

    Keith Walls

  2. #2

    Arrow Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    I do have a few questions about GPO and Sibelius.

    1) Will a specific GPO edition of Sibelius be required with Sib 5?

    2) Will Strad, Grof, etc. be compatible?

    3) What will happen when GPOA comes out? (I know this one is a bit crystal ballish, but it can't hurt to ask!)

    4) Can we expect any other differences/improvements with Garritan libs and Sib 5?

    -Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by LFO
    I do have a few questions about GPO and Sibelius.

    1) Will a specific GPO edition of Sibelius be required with Sib 5?

    2) Will Strad, Grof, etc. be compatible?

    3) What will happen when GPOA comes out? (I know this one is a bit crystal ballish, but it can't hurt to ask!)

    4) Can we expect any other differences/improvements with Garritan libs and Sib 5?

    -Kevin
    I can't speak for Gary but it looks like ALL Garritan K2-based products will work. Can't speak for the new, non-K2 based products.

    Keith Walls

  4. #4

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    My understanding looking at Sibelius 5 is that anything that is a VST or AU plug-in will work, so it would appear to me that the Gofriller Cello and Stradivari Violin would work. I downloaded the demo version, and managed to get the Kontakt Player 2 and Kontakt 2 (full version) to work with it. I don't know how any future releases will work.

    --Richard

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    458

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by Sharkbat
    My understanding looking at Sibelius 5 is that anything that is a VST or AU plug-in will work, so it would appear to me that the Gofriller Cello and Stradivari Violin would work. I downloaded the demo version, and managed to get the Kontakt Player 2 and Kontakt 2 (full version) to work with it. I don't know how any future releases will work.

    --Richard
    What did you have to do to get the K2 Player to work? The demo doesn't seem to recognize the fact that it is there.

    Keith W.

  6. #6
    Senior Member rpearl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    1,904

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Keith,

    Haven't tried the demo, and don't have Kontakt 2 (so why am I trying to give advice...?). But, did you launch K2 before launching Sib 5? In the past Sib wouldn't see anything that wasn't already active. Just a hunch.
    Ron Pearl

    Website:

    ronaldmpearl.com

    myspace:

    http://myspace.com/rmpearl

  7. #7

    Arrow Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Thanks for the replies. Does this mean that each instrument will recognize crescendos, trills, bow up/down, legato, sustain, etc. automatically? For instance, if I insert slurred notes will the CC control be inserted for legato by Sibelius? Is this the same CC command across all Garritan libraries? (Obviously I have no idea! )

    -Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

  8. #8

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    You can read all about the many new features here:

    http://www.sibelius.com/5
    //
    // Ars longa, vita brevis
    // http://edosbear.blogspot.com/
    //

  9. #9
    Senior Member rwayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California Redwoods
    Posts
    2,938

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Sharpe
    You can read all about the many new features here:

    http://www.sibelius.com/5
    Well, Ed, I read a bunch about it. But I will wait a bit before I buy it. I still am waiting to see how it handles importing of tuplets.

    Richard

  10. #10

    Re: Garritan and Sibelius

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithW
    What did you have to do to get the K2 Player to work? The demo doesn't seem to recognize the fact that it is there.

    Keith W.
    You need to copy the KP2 plugin to the "Sibelius Software/VSTPlugins" folder.

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •