• Register
  • Help

Topic: I'm in a mess: How to orchestrate a "hymn"...

I'm in a mess: How to orchestrate a "hymn"...

HI folks,

I am new in here and I don't know if this is the right place to post this. Please forgive me, but I am suffering of a certain problem and do need some help:

I am quite familiar with MIDI stuff and have been playing piano, organ, synths and all key-stuff for nearly 20 years. I am quite addicted to orchestral music; classical one but also modern one like movie scores or "pop-meets-classic"-stuff.
    Second, I am a quite active member within a local sports federation and was asked to compose some kind of hymn or anthemn for a huge international sports event in november 2007.

Now here is my problem. Time is short and I am quite new to GPO (got the DVD yesterday). I decided to buy this one, because I was rather impressed by the sounds and features, but I have never before "worked" with an orchestra. I already have a clear idea concerning the melody and structure of the tune, but how to convert it into a good sounding score. I need some kind of an "initial ignition" and thought maybe anyone of you can assist me a little bit with my start-up. I don't want to deliver something middle-class, I want it to be stunning! Something like a John Williams or Hans Zimmer theme or like VSOP did it in the 90's.

Please give me a hand and guide me a little bit. I have already started to go though Garritan's tutorials, but I wantalso some feedback from active users.

Thanks for your patience!

Question Re: I'm in a mess: How to orchestrate a "hymn"...

To reach the results you are expecting, people spend years of study.
    (Mr. Williams and Mr. Zimmer did it too...

Anyway to let you understand what we are talking about, the nice "Principle of Orchestration" tutorial in the site is a very good interactive and ready-to-use tool.