• Register
  • Help

Topic: newbie question

newbie question

Hi! Newbie here, I am thinking of buying the Garritan software. Just curious about how it actually works. The info at the website says there is a keyboard, a pedal and a modwheel (see the picture at http://www.garritan.com/GPO-control.html ). But I understood that the Kontakt Player is a software type of instrument visible on the computer screen. And that when I purchase the package I get one DVD-ROM (that's what it says on the order page), and not any keyboard player with a pedal as such. The info provided for a beginner is rather misleading. OK, if it is a keyboard that is visible on-screen, how do I "control the attack and accentuation of each note", etc? By pressing the keys with a mouse? How do I use the pedal? Is the actual producing of music anything like pictured on the page address above? Also, the site seems also otherwise not updated in a while - for example "Listen to the radio station" doesn't seem to work. The demos page first presents a list but soon opens a new list, etc. The forum seems still lively so I guess the product is still supported and updated?
    Many thanks for any info,
    Best regards

Re: newbie question

If you have already have an external MIDI keyboard hooked to your computer, you can play GPO instruments in the same way as shown in the animation on the page you linked to. However, you can also use a sequencer (or a notation program like Overture 4) to send the necessary MIDI data that the GPO instruments will respond to.