• Register
  • Help

Topic: Open / close harmony in strings

Open / close harmony in strings

Hi, All, I am new to this so please forgive my elementary question.

According to Rimsky-Korsakov and Belkin, it's normal to have the upper parts of the string section in close harmony:

However, I read somewhere else that string chords with open voicings "sound better."

Do you have any views about which is best?

Re: Open / close harmony in strings

Don Sebesky's book "The Contemporary Arranger" recommends open position, dropping the 2nd part down to the lowest, or a wide separation between the treble and bass parts. He says that string parts need a lot of room to breathe. I have found that this is sort of true. You can sometimes get away with not voicing every note in a chord - especially if other instruments are playing. He also says that you can put one or more ww instruments on parts mixed in with the strings or thicken a string line with a single ww instrument.

I was hoping that this forum would evolve into dealing more with stuff like this. In particular, a common problem for me is finding ways to make a very small group of strings sound like a larger section.

It depends. Both have their characteristics, so I use both in different situations, and quite conciously.

Closed harmony gives more "bulk" and density and intensity, open harmony can sound more distant, noble and a little cooler. One can also mix both (aka leaving holes or even upclustering certain areas) according to taste.

All your strings belong to me!

Quote Originally Posted by ejr
    In particular, a common problem for me is finding ways to make a very small group of strings sound like a larger section.
    Try out lots of thirds and possibly seconds since smaller intervals make it thick. Not only in the violins but also e. g. split the violas and let them play thirds if possible.