• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast

Topic: East West or Vienna? I need help

Share/Bookmark

East West or Vienna? I need help

I am new to the world of virtual orchestras and have never had the privilege of using one. I would like to know your views on EWQL Platinum and Vienna instruments special edition or Cube. I would like to hear the opinions of those who have had experience with either and would also like to know about things such as sound quality, ease of use, etc. If anybody has experience with both and would like to share their views on which they think is better that would be great. I would sure hate to spend over $1,000 and come out with a crappy orchestra.

Thanks

Re: East West or Vienna? I need help

Quote Originally Posted by GarrettG
    I am new to the world of virtual orchestras and have never had the privilege of using one. I would like to know your views on EWQL Platinum and Vienna instruments special edition or Cube. I would like to hear the opinions of those who have had experience with either and would also like to know about things such as sound quality, ease of use, etc. If anybody has experience with both and would like to share their views on which they think is better that would be great. I would sure hate to spend over $1,000 and come out with a crappy orchestra.

Thanks
    To me, I much prefer the control of ambience that Vienna has but one could argue that EW sounds better out of the box.

I will always trade off convenience for more control but YMMV.
    Composer, Logic Certified Trainer, Level 2,
    author of "Going Pro with Logic Pro 9."

www.jayasher.com

Well for once, non of the two are "crappy orchestra", no matter what one will tell you.

EW platinum has a couple of advantages over VSL (which has different advantages of course):

EW: 3 mic positions. This means that largely you don't need a seperate reverb to work a lovely mix, or even a 5:1 mix if needed.