• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Dilema: Can I afford not to buy AD?

Share/Bookmark

Dilema: Can I afford not to buy AD?

Here's my problem... I just bought S.I.D. XL and I absolutely love the sound. (Nothing compares!) But the time it takes to load the kits really takes the life from my creativity. I have a pretty fast Mac G5 Dual 2 w/1.5GB RAM and it takes atleast 20 minutes to load my abbreviated kit.

Addictive Drums, however loads instantly (demo version) and I really like the control over the drums. It sounds great too. (XLN Audio, Where did you come from?) This product is amazingly important to my creative process.

Does anybody else spend more time loading samples, than creating? I lose precious moments of studio time wrestling with Halion 3 and these libraries. I have to have great sounds because I am a drummer, so I want my drums to sound as natural as possible.

Re: Dilema: Can I afford not to buy AD?

I have a large sample set in my basic project template (HALion3 instances take up about 1 GB). It takes a few minutes to load, but once it's loaded, everything is fast. I have 3GB RAM, so a large part of the data stays in Windows's file cache after loading it once. Cubase's current 32 bit versions (I'm assuming there will be a 64 bit version in the future) have a nasty limitation that you can't use more than around 1.3-1.6GB of RAM in one project or otherweise Cubase doesn't have anough scrap RAM to save the project file. So when I have 3GB RAM, it means that everything I load in Cubase will always fit into RAM, *and* most of it will also be in the system cache... It may seem like a huge waste of RAM, but it speeds up re-loading projects considerably. The initial loading (when I've booted the machine) takes several minutes, but re-loading a project that uses the same samples takes only a fraction of that time.

Btw, how would you compare SID to NaturalStudio's ns_kit7? I mean the full 20GB version, not the free one.