• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Buying a new computer

Share/Bookmark

Buying a new computer

I plan on updating to Sib 5 W/GPO and when I do I also plan on buying a new computer. However as a full time student my resources are limited. I plan on spending about 1000$ for the computer. Any suggestions on what I need to make sure I get? IE: how fast, ram, sound cards (which I know nothing about), and anything else? Thanks

Re: Buying a new computer

HI,
    if you can swing $1200 you can get one made by a pro audio company who can support audio!

Scott
    ADK

From what I understand, the main thing you need is RAM. 4GB if you can get it. Also a semi-pro soundcard rather than a consumer one.
    Vista / Sonar Home Studio 6 / GPO 2d edition / Melodyne Uno 1.8

Build your own. It's not hard, and you will essentially double your money in terms of price vs. performance, especially if you don't care about video for gaming.

Looking at newegg.com and zipzoomfly.com (my go-to guys for least expensive commodity computer gear on the net), you could do:

Motherboard, huge variety, around $75
    CPU, AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core 4800+, $109
    7200 RPM SATA 500 gig hard drive, $120
    8 Gigs RAM, $380
    Case, huge variety, around $75
    CD/DVD Burner, $40
    Windows XP Pro 64-bit, $140
    Power Supply, huge variety, $60 for a 500w one (big is good)

Total: $999 + shipping

Mouse, Keyboard, Monitor, you probably already have
    Audio hardware, you probably already have

That system will *smoke* anything you could get pre-made from a builder for that price.

It's not at the bleeding edge as far as CPU goes nowdays, but it was when I built my main DAW around a year ago (and am still using). And I only have 4 Gigs of RAM, and am not running 64-bit.