• Register
  • Help

Topic: Getting started with sequencing

Getting started with sequencing

Newbie here.

I have a PhD in music composition. I see a lot of advice for those looking to learn orchestration, but I now *teach* orch and arranging, so I'm good on that front. My problem is that I'm rather lost when it comes to music technology. I can use a computer, troubleshoot when something goes bad (on my Mac), and I'm not anti-technology. However, I still compose mostly at the piano and than use Sibelius or Finale to create finished parts in the end. The universities I attended didn't have music technology options available to me when I was an undergrad or grad student.

Up to this point, I have performed all of my music with real musicians. Now that I've graduated, I don't have access to this anymore and would like to do some professional-quality mock-ups of my most recent pieces. Sizes of ensembles vary, from orchestra to mixed chamber groups to solo instrument with piano.

Anyone have any ideas on getting started??? The software I have is: Sibelius 5, some EW Orchestra libraries, Kontakt 2, and Digital Performer 5 (running on a 4-core Intel Mac). Besides Sibelius, I haven't a clue how to start using the others. I've tried the manuals, but they seem to be written in a different language.

Are there any resources available that could take me through the process step-by-step? I know that I could catch on and learn on my own, but I need to be shown the process first.

Re: Getting started with sequencing

Welcome. There are several of us around here looking for someone to mentor us as we learn composition and orchestration!

I'm a PC/Sonar man myself, but I do believe there are many Mac/Sibelius/Digital Performer folks around.

Welcome to northernsounds.
    Vista / Sonar Home Studio 6 / GPO 2d edition / Melodyne Uno 1.8