• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My very first attempt at "art" song

Share/Bookmark

My very first attempt at "art" song

Before we begin I have to say that I am not a singer. In fact, I can hardly carry a tune in a hand-basket. However, I did want you to hear how this would sound with vocal part. I doubled the voice with a cello, so if there are any questions about pitch or rhythm (a few syncopations I know I screwed up), refer to the cello line.

I’ve been studying Romantic era art song (lieder) and song cycles, such as Schumann’s Dichterliebe, and decided to try my hand at a song. This is my first attempt at this type of thing.

I had Schumann in mind, was listening to Chopin, but decided to go a little more contemporary, particularly since the poem refers to something 20th century.

Oh yes, the poem. I used a poem my mom wrote. Before you snicker, I have to say that my mom has had a few things published, has won a few contests, but most importantly for the discussion here, the composer H. Leslie Adams has used about a dozen of her poems in his art songs. If he can, so can I. Anyway, here is the poem:

Theme Song
    Joette McDonald

If you ever write
    a song for me
    let it hold a smile.
    I’ve had enough of dirges
    to last me for a while.
    I’ve heard the blues too often
    played low and mean and cool.
    So write an upbeat,
    catchy tune
    that’s grinning like a fool.

I picked it mostly because it is short . It is also very simple, almost to the point of being silly. Or so it would seem….

Anyway, here it is – Theme Song

Besides my ugly voice, what did you think?
    Trent P. McDonald

Re: My very first attempt at "art" song